Following 2007 legislative action and subsequent rule-making in 2008, the Office of Insurance Regulation (OIR) was allowed to establish lower collateral requirements for non-U.S.-based reinsurers. These reinsurers had to be highly-rated and financially sound meeting stringent capital and surplus requirements.
In 2010, Florida signed the first agreement in the United States with an eligible non-U.S.-based reinsurer – Hannover Ruckversicherung AG, based in Germany. Certified reinsurers operating in Florida are listed below. These certified reinsurers are based in Bermuda, Germany, Switzerland, Ireland, or the United Kingdom, all of which are considered qualified jurisdictions.
Florida was also the first state to allow ceding insurance companies to receive full credit on their financial statements for reinsurance purchased from non-U.S.- based reinsurers. Other states have since followed Florida’s lead and adopted similar provisions in their laws.
Effective June 15, 2020, the designated maximum rating and corresponding collateral required is based on the certified reinsurer’s current lowest financial strength rating assigned by the following rating agencies: A.M. Best Company, Standard and Poor’s, Moody’s Investors Service, Demotech, Fitch Ratings, and Kroll Bond Rating Agency, Inc. In conjunction with this requirement, the certified reinsurer must obtain a financial strength rating from at least two of the acceptable rating agencies. For more information about the secure financial strength rating, click here.
Applicants Seeking Certified Reinsurer Status:
Pursuant to Rule 69O-144.007(8)(b), Florida Administrative Code, OIR invites members of the public to respond to Certified Reinsurer applications submitted to the office. Interested and affected parties will have 30 days from the date the notice is posted to submit comments and responses to the applications listed below. Please click on the name of the reinsurer for the notice and information on how to submit public comments. OIR will not take final action on an application until at least 30 days after the notice is posted.
View information about reporting requirements, filing checklists and forms.